Skip navigation

1st January 2017


The Pension Quality Mark (PQM) was established to set aspirational standards for the industry and to lead the way in improving outcomes for savers.

Since the PQM was launched in 2009, it has led to improvements across governance, communications and contributions, and has become the recognised quality mark for the top quality defined contribution pension schemes.

Assessing over 250 schemes a year gives us a unique insight into how leading schemes are innovating and how best practise is evolving.

To recognise the schemes that are leading the industry standards, we have launched the PQM Distinction award. PQM Distinction recognises the best of the best. Each year at the PLSA Annual Conference we will award the PQM Distinction to schemes that go above and beyond the PQM standards in either communications or governance.

Schemes do not submit or apply for PQM Distinction, our Assessors identify and nominate schemes during the year. The Assessment team then shortlist a maximum of six schemes for consideration by a judging panel made up of the PQM Managing Director, two PQM non-executive Directors and two industry figures.

The PQM team will then use the awardees as case studies for other schemes to learn and improve from.

If you would like further information on PQM Distinction please contact

Latest news

28/11/2017 - Aon MasterTrust awarded PQM Ready read more

07/11/2017 - Aviva Master Trust awarded PQM Ready read more

Contact us

T: 020 7601 1770