Skip navigation

PQM Distinction

The Pension Quality Mark (PQM) was established to set aspirational standards for the industry and to lead the way in improving outcomes for savers.   Since the PQM was launched in 2009, it has led to improvements across governance, communications and contributions, and has become the recognised quality mark for the top quality defined contribution pension schemes.  Assessing a wide range of schemes for accreditation and renewal gives us a unique insight into how leading schemes are innovating and how best practise is evolving.

To recognise the schemes that are leading the industry standards, we have launched the PQM Distinction award. PQM Distinction recognises the best of the best. We will award the PQM Distinction to schemes that go above and beyond the PQM standards. Awards will be made at the PLSA conference in October.  The PQM team will use the awardees as case studies for other schemes to learn and improve from.

Schemes do not submit or apply for PQM Distinction, our Assessors identify and nominate schemes during the year. The Assessment team then shortlist some schemes for consideration by a judging panel made up of two PQM non-executive Directors, two industry figures and the PQM Managing Director.

2018 Winner: Tesco Retirement Savings Plan

Also shortlisted were:  CCEP Personal Pension Plan; Lend lease UK Pension Scheme; MSD Pension Scheme;  The Nationwide Group Personal Pension Plan; Total UK Pension Plan, Upstream (DC) Section.

Past winners:  2017 -  Heineken Flexible Retirement Plan.

If you would like further information on PQM Distinction please contact 

Latest news

18/10/2018 - PQM Distinction award 2018 read more

28/11/2017 - Aon MasterTrust awarded PQM Ready read more

Contact us

T: 020 7601 1770

Pension provision is an important part of the BBC's reward package; we are therefore delighted to have achieved PQM status.?
Jeff Webley, Communications Manager at the BBC